SVRA Presents its Annual Awards at the Heacock Classic Gold Cup

The Sportscar Vintage Racing Association (SVRA) held its annual Awards Banquet at the organization’s final event of the 2014 East Coast season, The Heacock Classic Gold Cup, held at Virginia International Raceway this past weekend.


The program began with SVRA President and CEO Tony Parella announcing the 2014 SVRA Hall of Fame inductees, Robert Pass and William “West” Clapp. Parella said of Pass, “Bob represents what makes SVRA such a unique and successful organization. He’s done it all: he’s been a competitor, was an owner of the organization who freely gave 110% of his (and his family’s) time and energy to help SVRA move ahead, and was even named as our Driver of the Year in 1990.”

Parella then commented, “West (Clapp) epitomizes the selfless dedication of the many people who work behind the scenes performing the tasks necessary to put on a successful event at every venue we visit. The importance of the work done by the Paddock and Grid Chief is underscored by the fact that his mentor, Mike Swain, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2014. It is my pleasure to present him with this award and formally thank him for all he has done for SVRA.”

Additional awards were presented to the first, second, and third place finishers overall in points for the Hawk Endurance Series, as well as the 11 group winners; first, second and third place overall finishers in points along with the 12 class winners in the Sprint Series; The Most Improved Driver; The Rookie of the Year; and the Amateur and Professional Mechanics of the Year. A complete list of the winners is attached to this release.

The final award of the evening was the prestigious Driver of the Year (DOTY). This award has been presented since 1984 and the winner is selected by the former recipients as the person who best represents the group’s goals of exhibiting Safety, Consciousness, Sportsmanship, and Consistent Performance throughout the previous season. Persons nominated must also have participated in 50% of SVRA events and be free of “chargeable incidents” during the year of their nomination.

Long time open wheel competitor, Marc Giroux, was named the 2014 recipient of this award. Upon receiving this honor, Giroux said, “The SVRA Driver of the Year Award is very special as it is based upon a selection process carried out by the past winners. They are an incredible group of drivers and earning their respect is very gratifying.” Marc attended his first Driver’s school in 1993 and has been Vintage racing ever since. He regularly competes in SVRA events driving his Group 2 1969 Brabham BT-29 Formula B as well as his group 9 1997 Lola Indy Lights T97/20. Giroux typically runs at the front of the pack, battling for a podium position.