The U.S. Vintage Racing National Championships Review

cota-results-overviewThe Sportscar Vintage Racing Association’s inaugural U.S. Vintage Racing National Championship was conducted at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, TX, from October 23rd to October 27th, 2013. The event drew Vintage racing participants from 7 countries and the length and breadth of the United States. Competitors represented 12 different Vintage racing sanctioning bodies and by the end of the 5 day event a total of 36 drivers, competing in twelve different Sprint races and two endurance events, won the specially designed, gold and black, 2013 U.S. Vintage Racing National Champion Bell Helmet.

Among other notable facts associated with this event were, 850 competitors submitted entries for the event with 530 participants ultimately accepted. Verifying the legality of these entries was particularly important to SVRA given the stature of the event and accordingly all competitors were required to submit a current Engine ertification Form (ECF) and Race Car Certification Form (RCCF) prior to their final acceptance. Upon arriving at the event all cars were required to go through an extensive safety and compliance check administered by the SVRA Technical Inspection staff. Additionally, the top five cars in each Championship race were weighed prior to the release of the final results and the awards presentations. Random checks on engine displacement were also conducted throughout the weekend.

My hat goes off to the entire SVRA team whose countless hours, days, and weeks of planning resulted in an outstanding inaugural event. Our competitors are also to be commended as the level of driving and sportsmanship exceeded our expectations. I would also like to thank our sponsors for their support throughout the 2013 season. Lastly, I’m extremely pleased with the number of positive comments we have received from drivers, crew members and spectators and we are looking forward to returning to the Circuit of the Americas for the Second Annual U.S. Vintage Racing National Championships in October 2014.

Listed below are the National Championship helmet winners by race group. Complete results for the event can be found at our results page.

Group 1, Pat Ryan, 1967 Triumph Spitfire, Group 2, overall winner, Derek Jones, 1970 Chevron B17, and the highest placed FF, CF, FC,FV, or SV finisher, Wade Cunningham, 1972 Titan Formula Ford. Group 3 overall winner, Denny Wilson, 1962 Lotus 7 and the highest placed DP, EP, or BS finisher, Erik Wood, 1971 Alfa Romeo Spider.

The Group 4 winner was Stephen Steers, 1958 Echidna. Group 5 winners were Doc Bundy in group 5a (5/FM, BSR, or CSR). Doc Bundy, 1964 Lotus 23, and the group 5b winner (5/AS or 5/GT) Cameron Healey in a 1973 Porsche 908/3. The Group 6 winners were; 6/AP Jody O’Donnell, 1969 Chevrolet Corvette, 6/BP, Mike Donohue, 1963 Chevrolet Corvette, 6/GTO & 6/GTU, Fritz Seidel, 1973 Porsche 911 RSR-IROC, 6/TA & 6/AS Scott Blackett, 1967 Camaro.

The Group 7 winners were Dudley Cunningham (7ASR & 7/M),1975 TOJ SC205 and Lee Brahin (7/BSR & 7/S2000) , 1996 Ralt RT41 SR. Group 8 winners were: Todd Treffert (8/AP, BP, CP, or DP),1973 Porsche 911, Bernardo Martinez Jr (8/BS),1966 Alfa Romeo GTV, and Troy Ermish, (8/BS, under 2 liters),1971 Datsun 510.

Group 9 winners; 9/FA, 9/FB and 9/FC, Doc Bundy, 1978 Lotus 79, 9/F5000 Paul Wilson, 1973 March 73A-2, and 9/F1 or 9/F2. Chris Bender, 1982 March 821. Group 10 overall winner, Craig Bennett, 1974 Shadow DN 4. The10/SC winner was Don Soenen, 1998 Ford Taurus and Don Noe, 1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass won the 10/GT,10/MP category.

The Group 11 winners were: first overall, George Robinson, 2007 Lola B0718, Theo Bean, 11/GTP1 & 11/GTP,1991 Chevrolet Intrepid, and Paul Fix, 11/TA1, 11/TA2,and 11/MP, 2000 Jaguar XKR, Formula Junior, first overall and the highest placed FJ1 car, Art Hebert, 1963 Lola Mk 5A and Roger Ealand, Cooper T56,won the FJ2 category. The Pre War winner was Paddins Dowling, 1939 Maserati 4CL.

Vintage/Classic Enduro winners were; first overall and first in the Classic category (SVRA enduro groups 5a, 6A and 8), Gray Gregory/Randy Buck, 1969 Chevron B16. First in the Vintage Category (SVRA enduro groups 1, 2, 3, 4), Thor Johnson/Bryan Sanborn, 1969 Lotus 17.

Historic GT/GTP Enduro winners were; first overall and first in 11/GTP3, GTP2, GTP1, and 10 SR, Christian Zugel, 2006 Porsche Spyder. Best finishing “Big Bore GT” car (SVRA 11/TA2, 11/TA1, 11MP, 10/GT1 or 10 SC car), Don Soenen, 1995 Ford Mustang T/A, The best Finishing “Small Bore” GT and Sports Racer (SVRA 10/GT2,10/GT3,10/MP or Production Rar) was Fritz Siedel, 1973 Porsche RSR-IROC.

Thank you again for making the U.S. Vintage Racing National Championship and our entire 2013 season a huge success. Best wishes for a joyous holiday season and I look forward to seeing you 2014.

– Tony Parella